Skip to main content


Queensland border restrictions - Business and Industry

pdfFact Sheet Release date:


To slow the spread of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19), the Queensland Government is implementing restricted entry to Queensland from 12:01 am on Thursday, 26 March 2020.

These restrictions provide for the continuation of essential goods and services for Queenslanders. Anyone who arrives in Queensland from another State or Territory from 12.01 am on 26 March 2020, must enter quarantine for 14 days, unless they are an “exempt person” (as defined in the Directive).

Any person who is ordinarily a resident in Queensland is an exempt person.

However, in some circumstances, even Queensland residents returning to Queensland will be required to self-quarantine for a period of 14 days. This includes residents who:

  • have been outside the border of Australia in the last 14 days, or

  • have travelled in the last 14 days to particular areas of Australia where COVID-19 is spreading in the

    community. The particular areas of Australia that require self-quarantine will be decided by the Chief Health Officer and published on the Queensland Health website.”